La-Vida-Boheme

Nominated for a two Latin Grammy awards and now for a Grammy for their album “Nuestra” in the category of Best Latin Pop, Rock or Urban Album, the members of La Vida Bohème from Caracas, Venezuela showed up for our LAMC ’11 interview in their iconic paint-dribbled clothes and bodies.

Read More

chocolate_covered_cherry_cake

The edges of this cake become slightly crunchy while the inside stays moist from the cherry filling. The frosting becomes a filling to emulate the gooey insides of a chocolate covered cherry. And just a little layer of chocolate on top rounds out the mouthfeel. How can you resist trying to make this?

Read More

Upcoming Events

sones-de-mexico Wednesday, September 3 Sones de México 20th Anniversary Concert Millennium Park, Jay Pritzker Pavilion, Chicago
timthumb Thursday, September 4 MEX Talks 2014 Chicago-Kent College of Law, Chicago
nepantla Thursday, September 4 Launch of Nepantla: A Journal Dedicated to Queer Poets of Color Poetry Foundation, Chicago
barrio-art-fest2014 Saturday, September 6 Barrio Arts Fest 2014 The National Museum of Puerto Rican Arts & Culture, Chicago
renegade-craft-fair Saturday, September 6 Renegade Craft Fair 2014 Wicker Park, Chicago
villapalooza Saturday, September 6 Villapalooza: 4th Annual Little Village Music Festival 26th & Central Park Avenue, Chicago
henriquez-makkai Tuesday, September 9 Cristina Henriquez and Rebecca Makkai: Two Chicago Novelists in Conversation Chicago Public Library Harold Washington Library Center, Chicago
latino-music-fest-2014 Wednesday, September 10 2014 Latino Music Festival Instituto Cervantes, Chicago
Vieux_Farka_Touré Thursday, September 11 World Music Festival Chicago 2014 Various Locations, Chicago
john-leguizamo Saturday, September 13 John Leguizamo in “Ghetto Klown” Chicago Theater, Chicago
la-yegros Saturday, September 20 World Music Festival Chicago presents: La Yegros Mayne Stage, Chicago
EviscerArt-flamenco Sunday, September 21 Jazz Flamenco Trio EviscerArt City Winery, Chicago
wendy-ortiz-excavation Thursday, September 25 Reading and Discussion with Wendy C. Ortiz: Excavation, A Memoir Chicago Public Library Harold Washington Library Center, Chicago
cumbiazaso-2 Saturday, September 27 CumbiaSazo! Dance Party Double Door, Chicago
mariachi-vargas Sunday, September 28 Mariachi Vargas de Tecalitlán Chicago Symphony Center, Chicago
AnaTijoux Wednesday, October 8 Ana Tijoux ‘Vengo’ Album Release Show Subterranean Cabaret, Chicago
ciff-logo Thursday, October 9 Chicago International Film Festival 2014 The Chicago Theater, Chicago
federico-aubele Tuesday, October 14 Federico Aubele – 10th Anniversary Celebration of ‘Gran Hotel Buenos Aires’ Mayne Stage, Chicago
ana-belaval Friday, October 17 “Que Nice!” An Evening with Comedian Ana Belaval Joe's on Weed Street , Chicago