Skip to content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Seeds of Change

April 8, 2016 @ 5:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Join grantees, board members, and friends of the Crossroads Fund

As we celebrate at our Annual Benefit

Seeds of Change

Friday, April 8, 2016

At the Chicago Cultural Center
GAR Hall
77 East Randolph Street
Chicago, Illinois


Schedule of Events:

5:30 p.m. Reception:
music, silent auction,
buffet dinner and open bar

7:30 p.m. Awards Presentation

9:30 p.m. Event Concludes

Join us in celebrating our revolutionary 2016 honorees who are fearless in the face of injustice!

Ron Sable Award for Activism

Invisible Institute

The Invisible Institute is a journalistic production company on the South Side of Chicago. Their work to hold public institutions accountable makes them a critical asset for movements. Their Youth/Police project holds space for young Black people to share how their lives are affected by the police presence in their neighborhoods. The newly released Citizens Police Data Project exposes officer misconduct and is a powerful resource for organizations across the city, especially in this movement moment.

Donald F. Erickson Synapses Award

Coalition to Revitalize Walter H. Dyett High School

The Coalition’s efforts to challenge the privatization of public education engaged students, parents, educators, and community residents. Ultimately, their direct actions successfully pressured Chicago Public Schools and Mayor Emanuel to re-open the doors of Dyett as a public, open-enrollment neighborhood high school. We congratulate them for their victory and applaud the Hunger Strikers in particular for their 34-days of courage and sacrifice.

Lynda J. Tipton Memorial Award for Social Justice

Black Youth Project 100 (BYP100)

BYP100 speaks to the core of what so many youth of color in Chicago and around the country are experiencing. Their campaigns, Justice for Rekia Boyd, #StopTheCops, and Fund Black Futures are inspiring. Throughout their work, they center a black, queer, feminist analysis and stand in solidarity with other local struggles, such as the Dyett Hunger Strike. In the wake of large movement wins and the loss of more lives to police brutality in Chicago and beyond, we recognize their continued leadership and powerful organizing for Black liberation.

HOST COMMITTEE (as of 2/22/2016)


State Representative Kelly Cassidy
State Representative Barbara Flynn Currie
Congressman Danny Davis
State Representative Sara Feigenholtz
State Representative Robyn Gabel
Cook County Commissioner Jesus “Chuy” Garcia
State Representative Will Guzzardi
State Representative Greg Harris
Cook County Clerk David Orr
Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky
Alderman Carlos Ramirez-Rosa
Alderwoman Susan Sadlowski Garza
Senator Heather Steans


Ali Abunimah
Tony Alvarado-Rivera
Molly Armour
Gary M. Arnold*
Kaberi Banerjee Murthy*
Angela E.L. Barnes Esq
Lawrence L. Benito
James Bennett & Terry Vanden Hoek
Evette M. Cardona & Mona Noriega
Megan Carney
Inhe Choi & Guy Ward
Ann Christophersen
Cathy J. Cohen & Beth E. Richie
Michael Collins*
Megan Cusick*
Michelle Di Benedetto & Dragos Visan
Susan K. Eleuterio* & Tom Sourlis
Ruth & Dale Fast
Karen S. & Michael J. Gallagher
Teresa Garcia & Nelson Gonzalez
Rhoda Rae L. Gutierrez & Jim Clark
Sally Havlis
Neena Hemmady
Janine L. Hoft* & Linda Wagner
Bob Horton & Jim Perry
Margaret J. Hunter*
Alejandra Ibañez*
Barbara Kemmis & Gina Medalle
Alice Kim
Nora Kyger *
Laura León
Rebekah Levin & Sophie Kaluziak
Sharmili Majmudar* & Laura Noah
Laura McAlpine
Omar McRoberts & Shelley Davis
Chirag Mehta & Rebecca Burwell
Agnes G. Meneses*
Deborah Minor Harvey
JoAnn & Cesareo Moreno
Mary F. Morten & Willa J. Taylor
Susan R. Nussbaum
Patricia O’Brien
Sheila O’Donnell & Nora Gallagher
Gina M. Olson
Alan D. Paberzs
Lisa Marie Pickens & Rima Malhotra
Christine Kim-Tai* & Andrew Plautz
Cristine Pope
Barbara Ransby & Peter Sporn
Alexia Rice-Henry*
Mark A. Rodriguez*
Shelly Ruzicka & Luis Juarez
Steve Saltzman
Margie Schaps & Jack Doppelt
Elyse Schauer*
Mary Scott-Boria
Dick Simpson
Noah Singer
Thelma Uranga
Thomas J. Wilson
Jaquelyn C. Zevin

*Also a Crossroads Fund Board Member

For more information, please contact Emmanuel Garcia at 773.227.7676 or


April 8, 2016
5:30 pm - 9:30 pm


Crossroads Fund


Chicago Cultural Center
78 E Washington St
Chicago, IL 60602 United States

Share this! (You know you want to.)

Got something to say? Say it loud!